Unreal Development Kit

Unreal Development Kit (UDK) is a free version of Unreal Editor and Engine 3 that allows anyone to make games or mods with it. It doesn’t require you to have any Unreal Engine based game to use it.

I have yet to learn more about it, since I’ve never been into Unreal editing tools before, but I already noticed some good things about it. One of them, is that this editor allows you to navigate in your 3D viewport with WASD keys by pressing the right-mouse button, which for me, since I’m used to work with Hammer for the Source Engine, is a must. There’s lots of other cool stuff about it that already come from previous versions. Having the ability to quickly preview/test/play in the editor itself, is one of them.

After being used to work with Source Engine, I think UDK has many advantages over it. Also, from what I’ve seen around, you can make your own games with it. Even if they aren’t the 1st person shooter type of games.

This is a great tool for all those that want to actually create their games in a powerful 3D engine. I highly recomend it.

Go for it. Or like they say in the documentation:

“Go make something unreal!”

2 Responses to “Unreal Development Kit”

  1. Really it’s so powerful 3D game engine..

    i know nothing about programing games šŸ˜¦ ..

    but when i saw udk i didn’t want anything more than learning it ..

    it’s just … great šŸ™‚

    • Unfortunately I still couldn’t have the time to learn it as I’d like, but it still looks very powerful to me. šŸ˜€
      I believe (I’ve been absent from internet for a while) that they release newer versions of it.
      Good luck.

Leave a Reply

