Ok, heading for a new path…

Good news, and bad news. Good news is, I’m back on my own super-computer (yea, right) and I’m feeling like doing something again. Bad news is, since HL2dm has been upgraded I feel like my jump maps aren’t good for anything anymore… I feel sad for this. The themes may serve some purpose in the future, but the straightforward jumping is pretty much obsolete, due to a Sprint bug that popped out of Valve’s (not surprisingly) really intelligent upgrading of the game. So all my maps have suddenly turned from stand-by mode into a full halt.
I won’t be developing them for AG2 either, mostly because of the lack of active players, and because the active ones play Pro-mode mostly, which I don’t at all.
My horror story mod, is pretty much left aside too. I may come back to it sometime in the future, probably when chicken start laying omelets. 😀 Due to a complete reinstall of my PC’s OS I now have the mod… somewhere… and I’d need to get everything organized again in order to be able to continue with it. But to be honest, I lost most of the inspiration I had back then, so probably only when those omelets come.
I have, however, a good amount of will to start exploring an idea I had some time ago, before my PC broke down. The original idea was to make a CTF map for HL2dm, based on that amazing game from my youth era, Dungeon Keeper. I did a fair amount of stuff back then. It’s not much compared to my goals, but considering all the work I had, it was already a very significant amount for me.
I’m currently catching up and recapping on source stuff and blas, hammer crashes and bugs, and all those nice annoyances from Valve, and I’m already sketching up some ideas and doing some 3D modeling. I made a video back then from the results of my experiments. I have yet no advancements to show off, but if all goes well, I may soon show some neat stuff, and maybe even what my goal is. Meanwhile, I need to start going to the beach, and do some more sketching in the process.
Cheers.

2 Responses to “Ok, heading for a new path…”

  1. mon4rch Says:

    lol wtf u kicked me from my group and left it

Leave a Reply

